Marie Skłodowska-Curie Symposium on the Foundations of Physical Chemistry Copernicus Center Warsaw, POLAND, 18-19.11.2011


The University Claude Bernard-Lyon1, the Freie Universität Berlin and the University Adam Mickiewicz in Poznan supported by the Helmholtz Association, the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD), the Fundacja na Rzecz Nauki Polskiej in Warsaw, the German, Polish and French embassies in Warsaw and Berlin and the European Physical Society, would like to cordially invite for a unique scientific event - German-Polish-French Colloquium organized to commemorate contribution of Marie Skłodowska-Curie to the foundations of physical chemistry. The symposium entitled Marie Skłodowska-Curie Symposium on the Foundations of Physical Chemistry will take place on 18th-19th of November 2011 in Copernicus Center in Warsaw, POLAND.

As 2011 is the year of chemistry, we find it important to present to a broader audience the foundations of physical chemistry and the influence the work of Marie Skłodowska-Curie had on this discipline.
The year 2011 is also the 100th anniversary of the conferral of the Nobel Prize to Marie Skłodowska-Curie, whose name marks the axis between Warsaw and Paris in a very unique way.
Furthermore, the year 2011 is the year of Polish presidency of the European Union Council which creates good opportunity to mark presence of Poland on the scientific arena.
The aim of the symposium is to present an overview across the wide field of modern physical chemistry and to emphasis its highly interdisciplinary character. Some of the topics that will be addressed include the optical and chemical behavior of nanoparticles, molecular switches and concepts of modern catalysis.


The highest ranking scientists in the field of physical chemistry from each of the countries participating in the organization of the symposium (Germany, Poland, France) will be giving their invited talks. Among them: Gerhard Ertl (Nobel laureate 2007), Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (Nobel laureate 1997), Helmut Schwarz (president of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation), Andrzej Sobolewski (Copernicus Prize 2008), Jürgen Troe (Max-Planck research award 1994), Bogdan Marciniec (Polish Nobel Prize 2009) and Thomas Ebbesen (Agilent Europhysics Prize 2001, Randers Research Prize 2001).

We expect 180 participants from the three countries. We would like to particularly strongly encourage young scientists to attend our meeting. All coming scientists will be given an opportunity to present their research activities during poster sessions. Special care will be taken to assure sufficient amount of time for poster presentations. The extended poster sessions will provide an opportunity to establish relations among all the participants. Moreover, authors of the best poster will be awarded with a special prize sponsored by the auspices of the symposium and will be given an opportunity to present their scientific results during 10 minute oral presentation.

We are convinced that our symposium will promote the German-Polish-French scientific cooperation and will serve as a nucleus of further research initiatives in Europe. Our intention is to attract young scientists from the three participating countries and to show them the fascinating perspectives of Polish-German-French cooperation in the field of physical chemistry, where the name “Marie Curie” speaks for itself!

Update of Adobe Flash control required!
Your "Flash Player" seems to be obsolete. Free of charge update can be started from Adobe website after clicking here.
If You are sure the update has been completed press here to open target website